



PRESS RELEASE

65th Berlin International Film Festival 05.–15.02.2015 TEDDY AWARD ceremony: February 13th, Komische Oper Berlin

29th TEDDY AWARD - THE JURY

15.01.2015

Dear Madam or Sir,

We are happy to introduce to you the jury of the 29th TEDDY AWARD which will be awarded on 13th February at the Komische Oper Berlin. Choosing from the queer films shown at Berlinale, the renowned international film- and festival makers from nine countries across four continents will award prizes in the categories Best Feature Film, Best Documentary and Best Short Film as well as the Special Jury Award.

Predrag Azdejković from Serbia is the Director of the international queer film festival MERLINKA. Furthermore he is the Editor in Chief of "GayEcho", an LGBT News Portal, and of Serbia's only gay magazine "Optimist". Since 2001 he is active in the field of LGBT rights as the founder and director of a Gay and Lesbian Info Centre. For his activism he received the prize for the best approach in fighting for the rights of discriminated groups by the German Federal Enterprise for International Cooperation.

Nick Deocampo is a gay filmmaker, author and film professor from the Philippines. He is the Festival Chairman of the QUEZON CITY INTERNATIONAL PINK FILM FESTIVAL. He has won numerous awards for his pioneering gay-themed documentaries and personal films that touched on themes of politics, and gender. He was among the first recipients of the Asian Public Intellectuals fellowship grant.

Diego Trerotola is an Argentinean film critic, programmer and professor of film theory. He was a programmer at the Buenos Aires based BAFICI FILM FESTIVAL for six editions and the MAR DEL PLATA FILM FESTIVAL for two editions. In 2000, he created his own film exhibit, called "Audiovisual Queer", and currently programs the LGBTIQ film festival ASTERISCO in Buenos Aires. He is also member of FIPRESCI, the international association of film critics.

Muffin Hix, an American expat living in London. is a Film Programmer for FRINGE! QUEER FILM & ARTS FEST in London. Hix is also Programmer for THE LOST PICTURE SHOW, traveling pop-up vintage picture palace, and Programme Coordinator for the BFI FLARE LONDON LGBT FILM FESTIVAL.

Yvonne P. Behrens is a native of Germany and has been living in the USA since 1999. She is the Executive Director of the PORTLAND QUEER FILM FESTIVAL and Director of the PORTLAND GERMAN FILM FESTIVAL. While living in Los Angeles, she worked for the UCLA Film & TV Archive and screened for the AFI FEST. She is a Committee Member of the LGBT group for the "Association of Moving Image Archivists (AMIA)" and a contributor to OUTFEST.

Gustavo Scofano was born and lives in Rio de Janeiro. Currently he is Head of Programming for FESTIVAL DO RIO, THE RIO DE JANEIRO INTERNATIONAL FILM FESTIVAL. He has also worked with documentary research & acquisition for pay TV and art house theatrical distribution. Over the past years at FESTIVAL DO RIO, he has curated midnight and genre sections, as well as retrospectives and music documentary sidebars.

Shana Myara is the festival programmer of the VANCOUVER QUEER FILM FESTIVAL. She is an award winning writer whose work is featured in "The Journey Prize Stories: Canada's Best New Writing, Coming Attractions" and has been shortlisted for the CBC Literary Award





among other prizes. Furthermore she wrote the short screenplay "Newcomers Swim Every Friday" which was directed by Meghna Haldar.

Bradley Fortuin was born in Windhoek, Namibia, and later moved to Botswana. He is member of the Lesbians Gays Bisexuals of Botswana (LeGaBiBo) and of the organizing committee of the annual BATHO BA LORATO FILM FESTIVAL. He uses social media to inspire, uplift and educate people about the different issues that affect the LGTBI in Botswana. Fortuin is currently perusing his Bachelor's degree in Information Systems and Information Management at the University of Botswana.

Mascha Nehls is a freelancer in the field of art exhibitions and events in Berlin. In 2007 the ENTZAUBERT QUEER D.I.Y. film festival was brought to live and Mascha has been with it since then. Furthermore she curated film programmes in exhibitions and festivals in Hamburg, Barcelona and Montreal.

The official presentation of the TEDDY AWARD jury will take place during the **TEDDY GRAND OPENING PARTY** on **Friday**, **6**th **February 2015 at 11pm** at SchwuZ, Rollbergstr. 26 in Berlin-Neukölln. Further information about the 29th TEDDY AWARD is available online at www.teddyaward.tv/en/.

And for those wanting to get the inside information on the queer films in competition for the TEDDY, **Wieland Speck** head of the Panorama section of the Berlinale and TEDDY director will present his **Introduction to the TEDDY selection 2015**, a MonGay Special, on Monday 2 February 2015 at Kino International, Karl-Marx-Allee 33, 10178 Berlin. Ticket proceeds will go to the TEDDY foundation (Tickets 7 euro, reductions 6.50).

The programme of the TEDDY AWARD is available online at www.teddyaward.tv

Tickets for the TEDDY AWARD ceremony in the Komische Oper Berlin on 14 February 2014 are on sale now online at www.teddyaward.tv. Tickets can also be reserved by e-mail: tickets@papagena.de or by phone + 49 30 4799 7447 and at the ticket office of the Komische Oper Berlin. Tickets are also on sale without a booking fee at Prinz Eisenherz Buchladen, Motzstraße 23, 10777 Berlin.

Press contact: Marie Gutbub

Tel.: 0049 152 33 85 27 14 E-Mail: presse@teddyaward.tv

The TEDDY AWARD is the world's most prestigious queer film prize. As a symbol of political engagement, the award is presented in recognition of films and individuals involved in communicating queer issues to a wider audience and who, as a result, contribute to greater tolerance, acceptance, solidarity and equality throughout society.

The TEDDY is awarded during the Berlin International Film Festival in the categories: best feature film, best documentary and best short film and as a special TEDDY AWARD presented to exceptional individuals for their lifetime achievement. Films from all sections of the Berlin International Film Festival compete every year for the much coveted TEDDYs. Previous winners of the TEDDY AWARD include leading international directors such as Pedro Almodóvar, Gus Van Sant, Derek Jarman and Werner Schroeter and international screen stars such as Helmut Berger, Joe Dallesandro, John Hurt and Oscar-winning actress Tilda Swinton.

The theme of this year's TEDDY AWARD is *Celebrate Queer Icons*. This is a celebration of gay men, lesbians, bisexual men and women, transvestites, closet queens and raging queers. From Valeska Gert to Divine, from James Dean to Barbara Stanwyck, from Sergei M. Eisenstein to Virginia Woolf, we aim to commemorate talented queers who sought both to push back the frontiers of art and to live (or sometimes only to survive) as gay men, lesbians, bisexual men and women or as trans* in 'normal' society.

The TEDDY award is a not-for-profit event and is financed exclusively through the contributions and donations of the sponsors and benefactors of the TEDDY foundation, the hard work of its many volunteers and through sponsorship and ticket sales for the event itself.