Tian bian yi duo yun


It is a hot summer in Taipei. Water is scarce, but melons make a good alternative. A young Korean woman reencounters an old acquaintance and, over the course of nightly meetings in her apartment, a tender, almost non-verbal romance develops. Shiang-chyi has no idea that Hsiao-kang now works as an actor in cheap porn movies that an amateur film crew shoots in the same high-rise. Melons are involved… Big-city isolation and its close companion, alienation, alongside sexual exploitation are at the core of the modern love story told by The Wayward Cloud, with the diverse uses for melon guaranteeing both annoying, but also comedic, moments. The film garnered three awards at the 2005 Berlinale, including the Silver Bear for Outstanding Artistic Contribution.
The 4K restoration brings out the contrast between the silent, dark scenes in the urban jungle and the cheerful, colourful musical interludes that repeatedly interrupt the story and function as ironic commentary.


  • Runtime

    115 min
  • Country

    Taiwan, France
  • Year of Presentation

  • Year of Production

  • Director

    Tsai Ming-Liang
  • Cast

    Kang-Sheng Lee, Shiang-chyi Chen, Yi-Ching Lu, Kuei-Mei Yang, Sumomo Yozakura, Huan-Wen Hsiao, Hui-Xun Lin, Kuo-Xuan Jao
  • Production Company

    Homegreen Films, Arte France Cinéma
  • Berlinale Section

    Berlinale Classics
  • Berlinale Category

    Feature Film

dates of presentation

    1. Akademie der Künste

      10557 Berlin

    1. Cubix 6

      Rathausstr. 1
      10178 Berlin

Biography Tsai Ming-Liang

Born in Kuching, Malaysia in 1957. He won the Golden Lion at Venice in 1994 for Vive l’amour. His films screened in the Berlinale in 1993, 1995, 1997 and 2014, with The River winning a Silver Bear in 1997. His 2009 film Visage was co-produced by the Louvre in Paris, while Stray Dogs won the Grand Prize of the Jury at Venice. He has also presented his video installations at the Venice and Shanghai biennales and is a playwright and theatre director. His work has featured in art festivals in Brussels, Vienna and Taipei.

Filmography Tsai Ming-Liang

1992 Qingshaonian Nuozha (Rebels of the Neon God) | 1994 Ai Qing Wan Sui (Vive l’amour) | 1997 He Liu (The River) | 1998 Dong (The Hole) | 2001 Ni Na Bian Ji Dian (What Time Is It There?) | 2002 The Skywalk Is Gone | 2003 Bu San (Goodbye, Dragon Inn) | 2005 Tian bian yi duo yun (The Wayward Cloud) | 2006 Hei Yan Quan (I Don’t Want to Sleep Alone) | 2009 Lian (Visage) | 2013 Jao You (Stray Dogs) | 2014 Xi You (Journey to the West) | 2015 Afternoon | 2017 Jia Zai Lanre Si (The Deserted) | 2018 Ni De Lian (Your Face) | 2018 Light | 2019 Rizi (Days) | 2022 He Chu (Where) | 2024 Wu Suo Zhu (Abiding Nowhere)